Year 13 UCAS Reference

Year 13 UCAS Reference

Qualifications offered to students currently in Year 13 at Bedford Modern School

Bedford Modern School is an independent, selective day school. We start students in Year 3 and take them through to Year 13 although some will join the School in the intervening years. We take a big intake into our Sixth Form. Most of our students will go on to university and the few who do not will be going into a higher level apprenticeship. With this in mind, students will normally take 10 subjects at GCSE or IGCSE.

In the Sixth Form, students usually start a course of four A Levels in Year 12, reducing down to three A Levels before the start of Year 13. Some students will opt to continue with four A levels. During Year 12 students also take part in an enrichment programme which includes the option of taking the EPQ and/or Core Maths. All subjects are taught by subject specialists on a single site.

All students take an examination in each of their subjects at the end of Year 12. This allows us to make predictions of their A Level results based on these examination results, their performance in class and in internal tests, ALIS data from the CEM centre and our professional judgement. The school does not provide a predicted grade for the EPQ in line with AQA advice. However, students are awarded the EPQ in the January of Year 13.

Our Sixth Form curriculum consists of the following A Levels:





Classical Civilisation

Computer Science

Design and Technology Design Engineering

Design and Technology Product Design

Drama and Theatre Studies


English Language and Literature

English Literature

Further Mathematics

Film Studies

Geography (International A Level)







Physical Education




Religious Studies