School Music Prizes 2020 07 February 2020

On Tuesday 04 February, adjudicator Craig Patterson presented the annual BMS music prizes to the deserving students. The day showcased a wealth of talent across categories including preliminary, intermediate and advanced standards for each instrument group, plus prizes for singing and composition. Performances took place throughout the day with Craig announcing the winners for each category.

Craig is a professional trumpet player and has received several prestigious awards during his career. He regularly performs with orchestras such as the CBSO, BBC Philharmonic, English National Opera and Birmingham Royal Ballet, and has recently become the MD of Bedford Town Band.

Director of Music, John Mower, commented: “It was great to welcome Craig back to BMS to adjudicate the Senior Music Prizes on Tuesday. The standard of playing was high throughout the day, with many enjoyable performances. Staff and students alike appreciated the variety of music on offer from our Senior School students, and thanks should go to all who took part.”

The winners were as follows:

Preliminary Music Prize
Harvey Loakes – Year 7 (voice)

Intermediate Music Prize (any instrument)
Ananya Chandra – Year 10 (drum kit)

Intermediate Music Prize (Strings)
Evelyn Piper – Year 9 (harp)

Intermediate Music Prize (Piano)
Charlie Blades – Year 9

Deveson Prize for Strings
Amina Eldin (violin) – Year 12

David Warren Prize for Broken Voice Singing
David Bygraves – Year 12
Joly Black – Year 12

Deveson Prize for Woodwind and Brass
Evie Hrydziuszko (flute) – Year 9

HW Stewardson Prize for Keyboard
Niall Townley (piano) – Year 12

The School Prize for Singing
Immy Churchill – Year 13

Composition Forum
Michael Chamberlain – Year 12
Greg May – Year 13

The Prize-Winners’ Prize
Greg May – Year 13